Select Committee on Benghazi Announces Rules, Scope

January 29, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC—Select Committee on Benghazi Chairman Trey Gowdy today announced the committee will continue to operate under the rules and scope laid out for it by the House after Democrats refused multiple times to accept a negotiated rules package over demands for veto power over subpoenas.

“I am unwilling to let the minority party veto subpoenas when it is clear they have prejudged the outcome of the investigation," said Gowdy, R-S.C. “The minority has repeatedly indicated it is unwilling to issue any subpoenas. If subpoenas are necessary for the committee to talk to relevant witnesses or access relevant documents, they will be issued.

Gowdy added with the Democrats’ refusal to accept a compromise on committee rules, the committee will continue operating under the rules and scope set out for it in House Resolution 567 and reiterated in House Resolution 5 of the 114th Congress.

The scope of the Select Committee’s investigation includes, but is not limited to: security decisions and military posture prior to the attack, the terrorist attack that occurred in Benghazi on September 11, 2012, the Executive Branch’s response to the attack, the Executive Branch’s efforts to identify and bring to justice the perpetrators of the attack on U.S. facilities in Benghazi, Libya on September 11, 2012, the Executive Branch’s response to congressional inquiries and subpoenas, recommendations for improving executive branch cooperation and compliance with congressional oversight, and lessons learned from the attacks and efforts to protect United States facilities and personnel abroad, according to the resolution’s accompanying report.

“I will continue to move the investigation forward in a fair and impartial manner, but I will not allow the minority’s political games and unreasonable demands to interfere with the investigation,” said Gowdy. “The time for negotiations has passed, and the Committee is moving on under the rules and scope approved by Congress.”